6-Step strategy to help with changing your career path

Looking or thinking to change career path? Come on in. Let’s discuss ways you can strategically do this. Find a seat, grab a cup of coffee and make yourself comfortable. Thanks for joining in today.

As many know, I started off as a Graphic Designer in Lagos on a N30,000/month pay. Today, I am a Senior branch office administrator (BOA) in one of Canada’s Big 5. On another day, I'll give details of what prompted the change, why I changed & how I navigated the path. 

Career Path

Today, I'd be putting you through this 6-Step strategy to help with your career change journey. Let's wait for others to find a seat. Also, remember there is coffee and juice in the other room. Also, if you have questions at any point, just indicate. 

1. WHERE ARE YOU NOW ?

(Evaluate Yourself & Your Situation)

It is important that before making any decision or allowing your emotions guide you, you need to assess yourself in the most honest way.You must understand that making a career change requires commitment & sacrifice. 

Things will change, so are you up for it?Evaluating means asking honest questions like:

- Why am I seeking a change?
- Will I be happier?
- Is the workload at my present job stressing me?
- Do I just need more money?
- Is a new career the answer or another job in same field? 

Read also : Building Carousels and sliders with TailwindCSS.

-Is this new career borne out of passion?
-Am I just bored & looking for something lively?

Once you're done reflecting, your view should be less misty. Now, make a list of why you want this change. This will help to clarify your viewpoint more.

Don’t let your coffee get cold. 

2. WHERE ARE YOU GOING?

(Determining Your New Career Location)
After you’ve been able to convince yourself that you need to break up with your present field, it is important to know and understand what career you are shooting your shot at.