15 Most Common Interview Questions : How to and not to answer them

Do you have an interview anytime soon? Here are 15 Most Common Interview Questions . How to and not to answer them.

To start, please bear in mind that no two interviews can be the same as there are always different factors that determine how an interview will go.

interview

The interviewer, the ambiance, the questions can all play different roles on the outcome. You can check this article on a 'Practical way of approaching an Interview'.

1. Tell me a little about yourself.

No: The interviewer is not asking you what political party you support. At this point, he / she doesn't care if you go with Messi or Ronaldo.

About yourself should be an elevator pitch that you have practiced and mastered overtime.

Example: I am a hardworking professional with ___ years of experience. I’m excited to find a role where I can leverage and expand on my current skill set while also learning, growing and contributing to a great organization that aligns with my values.

Read also : Interview Preparation 101 : How to prepare for interview.

2. Why should we hire you?

No: Don't go mentioning achievements that do not tie or relate to the role or the organization in question.

The more specific you can be about what your skills are & how valuable of an employee you can be the better.

Example: I have the skills and competencies needed in this role and the drive about your organization will help me thrive here. I also believe I can contribute immensely to the company culture by ___________.

3. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

No: This isn't about your personal goal of getting married, having kids, buying a house etc.

This question is to find if you set realistic goals, if you are ambitious and to confirm that the role aligns with your set goals.

Example: