13 hard truths you should know after finishing National Youth Service Scheme (NYSC)

Congrats to all those that completed their National Youth Service Scheme today. I am no prophet but let me tell you some hard truths about the system and tell you how to navigate it. You will begin to see them occur and no career blog will tell you this.

Youth service

1. If you didnt build any profitable connection or have any influential family or friend as your contact be prepared to sit at home small

2. If you were not applying to companies during your service year and probably didnt participate in any job interview or test, be prepared to sit at home small

3. If you didnt acquire any skill or have no hustle that will generate income for you, frustration might set in but it's not the end of the world

4. Family members might tell you to go get a job while you are home forgetting that it's not your intention to sit at home please dont get upset at them. Also, dont let depression set in. They mean you well but don't know the right way to communicate it.

5. If you sit at home too long you will start considering the possibility of going for Masters. Know that you are only prolonging what you will still face except you plan to tow the academic line or runaway from Nigeria to seek greener pastures

6. Some of your friends will get jobs before you and start building their lives. Some will get married. Please rejoice with them and dont be envious time and chance happens to all. Your time will surely come I promise you.

7. If you finished with a third class it wont be easy let me not lie to you. But you can still make it in other things and the story of your third class will become a motivation

8. Dont believe the lie  that its CV alone that will get you a job. CV is only one step in the door. There is still assessments, interview etc

How To Get The Job You Deserve, Without A CV And A Cover Letter